it started with hello

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

It all started with that one simple word, though it wasn’t said face to face. While most people like to set up their family members with future boyfriends ours choose to set us up with our future best friend. “You should message her. I think you guys would really like each other.” At first it was like, “I don’t know her! What if she doesn’t like me? What if this just totally backfires?” But little did we know that in that moment when we both mustered up the courage to write an email to the other and hit the “send” button, we had just found our best friend, 577 miles away. After that first email was sent in August of 2014, we waited until April of 2015 to finally say hello face to face. And when we did say that hello it wasn’t an awkward or tension filled ‘hello’ like you think it would be. Instead it was like meeting an old friend, because, that’s exactly what we were doing.

Jenna: I remember the moment I heard I was going to get to see Hayden. Lots of different emotions crossed my mind. Happiness, nervousness, excitement, and more nervousness. Then the day came when I was actually going to see her. Actually going to get to have a real life, face to face, conversation with her. I remember sitting on my porch, earbuds in my ears, trying not to look down the street every two seconds. Then the car came. And then the car parked. And then my very best friend got out. I stood up and met her in the street, the nervousness traveling from my stomach to chest to my entire body. And then it happened. We hugged and all that nervousness melted away. We hugged and it was as if I had known her for years and as if I saw her every day of my life. There was no awkwardness and it wasn’t uncomfortable. Why not? I guess because I was just seeing my best friend. The friend I had shared things with and had ranted to. The friend I still share things (Only now instead of ‘things’ its EVERYTHING) with and rant to. My ‘keypad pal’. My ‘bestie for the restie’. My confidant. My soul sister.

Hayden: April. A week. Pennsylvania. With my best friend. HOLY COW. I was so excited, so nervous. But mostly excited. The whole 10 hours there I thought I was going to crawl out of my skin. Literally I just wanted to get to PA, eat some food, go to sleep and wake up the next day so I could FINALLY see Jenna. After what seemed like an eternity, I was in the car and on my way to see her! Once parked, I saw Jenna sitting on her porch and butterflies filled my stomach. For a split second, I had the thoughts “what if she doesn’t like me or what if this goes totally wrong?” but then as I met her halfway and we hugged for the first time EVER, I forgot I had ever thought that. Soon, we were talking just like we had been in our emails for the past 7 months. To finally get to talk to the girl who had listened to all my struggles and gave me (and still continues to give me) the best advice ever, the girl who had put up with all my vents, the girl who knew all my secrets and who had been there for me from 577 miles away, the girl who had become my best friend, was insanely awesome. That week went by too fast. But I can tell you that now, 3 years later, she’s still that girl. My best and most trusted friend. The person I confide in, the person I go to for advice, the person who gets me, the person who is always honest with me, the person who puts up with crazy me. And without her, I honestly don’t know where I would be.

So there you have it! The story of how we met. The story of the beginning of a friendship that works despite the distance, despite only seeing each other every year/ year and half and despite the quiet spells. The story of the beginning of something that only God Himself could have fit together. The story that is still in the makings and the story that we hope encourages you guys. Thank you guys so much and keep a eye out for our next post next Tuesday.

H+J

Leave a comment